Issue with oauth2.0 access token

Hi there,

I am new to sage APIs, but I have worked with OAuth2.0 before. I keep getting the following error when requesting an access token: "The auth code you transmitted has an unexpected format".

Here is my request below:

url = 'https://oauth.accounting.sage.com/token'
    payload = {'client_id': client_id,
               'client_secret': client_secret,
               'grant_type': 'authorization_code',
               'code': accesstoken,
               'redirect_uri': redirect_uri,
               'code_verifier': code_verifier
               }
    files = []

headers = {
        'Content-Type': 'application/x-www-form-urlencoded'
    }
    response = requests.request("POST", url, headers=headers, data=payload)

This is the response I get:

{'$dataCode': 'DataParsingError',
 '$message': 'The auth code you transmitted has an unexpected format.',
 '$severity': 'error',
 '$source': 'Proxy'}

• Administrators

Hi Norman,

Welcome to the community 🙂

The Accounting API uses OAUTH 2.0 with an authorization code grant type, which requires 2 stages to obtain a valid access token. 

The initial step is to make an authorization request to https://www.sageone.com/oauth2/auth/central?filter=apiv3.1

You must include with this request the 'client_id', the 'response_type' of 'code' and your 'redirect_url'.

It is this initial stage that prompts the user to authenticate with their Accounting credentials and authorize your app to access their business data. Once complete, they are redirected back to the specified callback URL along with an authorization code you require for the step you specified above.

Obtain the authorization code from the URL, and then you can specify it as the value of 'code' in the payload you included above (where you now have an 'accesstoken' variable).

This will provide you with a response, returning the access_token, refresh_token etc.